BOOKS

THE WEIGHT OF SMALL THINGS

Nine-year-old Frankie Appleton likes to count gates. One day she hopes to design the perfect gate - a gate to keep the bad things out. Little does she know that the bad things have already got in. Now her mother is dead, and the only other person with a house key has disappeared. Frankie thinks she knows who it is.

THE WEIGHT OF SMALL THINGS is as charming as it is chilling, and readers are in for a powerful and twisty read. It’s the perfect book for fans of Joanna Cannon and Kate Atkinson. Ajda Vucicevic from Mirror Books said: "I’ve been waiting for a novel of this calibre for years. For books like this to capture the hearts and imagination of readers, they have to deliver the perfect mix of intrigue, twists and unputdownable writing. This book has it all, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be bringing Julie’s magic to readers".

"A beautifully written book with a charming, young narrator, combined with a surprisingly dark and unusual whodunnit. It's a touching, powerful and twisty read, packed with intrigue. Will appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble With Goats and Sheep."
S.J. Harris, author of The Colour of Bee Larkham's Murder

"A chilling whodunnit with a charming young narrator, about the secrets and lies that form the fabric of family".
David Nicholls

 

 

 

Book Reviews

 

A number of reviews can be found on NetGalley

 

Tessa P starstarstarstarstar

The Weight of Small Things is a poignant and haunting murder mystery that gives the reader a realistic look into the struggles of mental health disorders and their numerous ramifications and consequences. Told mostly from the perspective of a nine-year-old girl, albeit an unusually mature child, the story is given a unique voice in an unexpected mystery style. I love the way that mental health disorders are handled in this story. The portrayal of the mother’s psychosis is handled genuinely and with deep respect and sensitivity. Lancaster writes about it in a truly educated and sympathetic manner.
Read the full review on NetGalley

Snazzy Books starstarstarstarstar

The Weight of Small Things is a beautifully written novel which tells the stories of multiple characters of different generations. We see Peggy, Frankie and Stella’s lives change as time goes on, with all the narratives set sometime in the 1980s. The focus of the book is about the characters’ development and progression, and Julie Lancaster envelopes the reader into their lives beautifully. There is some mystery around the death of Frankie’s mother, but to me it doesn’t feel like this is what springs to mind when I think of the storyline of The Weight of Small Things. It’s more about the secrets individuals keep from their own children and the rest of their community, as well as the struggles people can experience without anyone else knowing. The novel has a real sense of poignancy and some of the themes addressed in this novel are very serious and important, and I feel that they’re presented sensitively by the author. Some characters are far more likable than others – I appreciate that none of the characters are without their own flaws but we know that these don’t necessarily make them bad people (though some of them certainly are – I won’t give anything more away here). They’re just people with their own issues, and I think this makes some of the characters feel much more realistic and convincing. I think The Weight of Small Things is a powerful, absorbing read. It is certainly a difficult read at times, but one that I’d really recommend. I really look forward to reading more by this author in the future.
Read the full review on Snazzy Books

Philomena C starstarstarstarstar

It’s such a great book that no matter what I say won’t give it the credit it deserves.
From the way the story is written to the storyline and characters the author had my attention from start to finish.
Great praise to the author on bringing certain topics to the forefront. I’ll certainly be recommending this story to my reader friends.
Read the full review on NetGalley